Post by Steve King (Admin) on Sept 26, 2007 18:26:36 GMT -6
In scenerio 1, player A would win. Why? Games are played to "exactly 21". Because they are both tossing with the fact that they are both "at 20 points" and either needs to gain exactly 1 point to win. If you play by the cancellation version of the rules, both on the 1 pointer would cancel both players attempt. If you play the version that all points count and both land on the 1 pointer, then you must keep playing rounds until the other player is exactly 2 points ahead of the other player. The all points version is the official Ladder Golf version fo the rules. IN THIS SCENERIO THAT YOU SPEAK OF, player B threw a 3 pointer, making his attempt null since he went over 21.
In scenerio 2, player A wins because he hit 21 exact. Player B went over, nullifying his toss.
As a summary, it really depends if you play all points count (official) or cancelling counts. If all points count, then you have the chance to go into overtime and must win by exactly 2 points. If all points don't count and you can cancel, then you won't get to the OT scenerio, since you must hit 21 exact and someone landing you the 21 mark with you would cancel that attempt to win. You can't go over 21 in the cancelling scenerio, since there is no OT or win by 2 points rule.
**If you play all points count, don't worry, you can STILL cancel someone by trying to hit their bola with yours to knock it off the rung.
Post by Steve King (Admin) on Jul 11, 2005 10:47:50 GMT -6
These are the rules that I play by.
1) Ladders can be placed anywhere between 15 and 35 ft. apart. Generally, we adults use 20-25 ft. apart and for the kids, 15ft. (5 paces) apart is the rule of thumb. 35 ft. ads a lot more of a challenge if you want a longer game.
2) I play that scoring is 3,2,1 from the top down.
3) With the set that I have construction plans for on this site, the 3/16th inch string ropes are about 18 inches in length which allows for a double wrap between 2 ladder bars. If this happens, then you ad the 2 ladder points together. We call this a double.
Now, if you own the patented wooden ladder golf set (like I do too) www.LadderGolfGame.com, then the ropes are 1/4th inch thick and only 10" in between the balls. There is no chance of wrapping around 2 ladder bars at this length. This is more challenging and I personally prefer the string lengths to be 10" in between the bolos. Not getting a double isn't a big deal with me.
4) If you get one bola on the top, one bola on the middle rung and one on the bottom rung, then that is a bonus and counts at 7 points vice 6 points (bonus). You would also gain 1 bonus point if all 3 of your bolas land on the exact same rung. Now, if you are in a position to need only 6 points, since you need to score an EXACT 21 points to win, then it is ok for you to take the 6 points, since 7 points would put you over.
5) All points count. No cancelling (official rules), but you can play the cacellation variation of the rules if you want. We do sometimes. To each their own. However, if you play the cancelling option, then there is no chance of going into OT, since you must hit 21 exact.
6) If you don't score exactly 21, then your points for that session don't count. For example, you have 18 points and throw 2 bolas, both landing on the middle 2 pt. rung, well, that would put you at 22, so, you stop and stay at 18 pts. since you went over Better luck next time around for the exact 21 needed. If both teams get exactly 21, then you go into OT until one wins by exactly 2 points.
7) Highest scorer during a session gets to go LAST the next time around. Why? Well, it is to their advantage to be the highest scorer and go last because they have the chance to knock others off after they throw first. So, going last has its priveledges. However, this is another variation of the official rules. Official rules state that the winner of the last round goes first. Once again, to each their own.
8) If you throw and your bola isn't wrapped around a rung, but rather another bola wrapped around a rung, then your points are for the next rung down (or ground), since if that bola wouldn't have been there, then your bola would have landed on whatever is below (a rung or the ground).
That about sums it up I think. Feel free to ask questions if you have any that I may have missed to touch on.
Post by Steve King (Admin) on Mar 18, 2008 16:59:51 GMT -6
I usually play the center is 3pts. and the ends are 1pt. Play to 21. You can play all points count or cancellation. You can also play to hit 21 exact or not. If you have to hit 21 exact, it may be a bit more challenging, because if you go over, you have to go back to 15. To each their own. Stand back 15 ft. to toss.